The proposed 30-member advisory council includes...

1.      Mansour Hassan: former information minister (president of council)

2.      Mohamed Nour Farahat: Social Democratic Party leader (elected secretary general)

3.      Sherif Mohammed Zahran: unknown occupation (assistant to secretary general)

4.      Abdul Mohammed al-Moghazy: unknown occupation (assistant to secretary general)

5.      Abul-Ela Madi: leader of Al-Wasat Party  (deputy to the president)

6.      Ahmed Kamal Abul-Magd: vice chairman of the National Council of Human Rights

7.      el-Sayed el-Badawi: leader of Al-Wafd Party

8.      Hassan Nafaa: political science professor at Cairo University

9.      Sameh Ashour: president of the Bar Association (deputy to president)

10.    Abdel-Aziz Hegazy: a former prime minister

11.    Ashraf Abdel-Ghafour: head of the actors' syndicate

12.    Amr Moussa: a presidential candidate

13.    Mohamed Salmawi: a writer

14.    Mohamed Selim el-Awwa: a presidential aspirant

15.    Moataz Bellah Abdel-Fattah: a political sciences professor

16.    Naguib Sawiras: Businessman, Leader of Free Egyptians Party

General info:
The advisory council on Sunday (12-11-2011) elected Mansour Hassan, as its president. 

OLD LONG INTERVIEW WITH MANSOUR HASSAN I had watched a while back but videos seem to have disappeared:  Accoring to Zeinobia, he "was replaced in the Mubarak era "he already resigned after the September 1981 arrests"

The members elected two deputies for Hassan: Abul Ela Mady, president of the Wasat Party, and Sameh Ashour, president of the Lawyers Syndicate.

Mohamed Nour Farahat, a leader from the Egyptian Social Democratic Party, was elected secretary general. Sherif Mohammed Zahran and Abdul Mohammed al-Moghazy were elected assistants to the secretary general.

Ashour told Egypt’s al-Masry al-Youm daily that they were elected in a secret ballot.

The council’s secretary general will act as liaison between the council and the SCAF. The council is to convene at least once a week, but may meet whenever the need arises or upon the request of one-third of its members or the head of the SCAF.

Twenty-four of the council’s 30 members were present at the first meeting. Among the most notable absentees were Coptic businessman and founder of the Free Egyptians Party Naguib Sawiris, presidential hopeful Amr Moussa, and president of al-Wafd Party al-Sayed al-Badawy.

Leave a Reply.